Winter Reverie

Image

M. Negrych, 2012

Personally, I have always had a soft spot for Winter. The snow doesn’t bother me, the cold is refreshing, and even the darkness is comforting. Of course, that isn’t to say that I am exempt from the frustration the comes when Winter overstays its welcome. Where I live we have officially surpassed the record for snowfall- my backyard is so full of snow that I have no place left to put what I shovel off the deck and walkway. However, if it were not for the mini-blizzard occurring at the moment, I would be pulling on my warm clothes, leaving all my work behind, and building a snow-fort to rival any box and pillow Fort Kick Ass ever constructed.

It is going to make driving on the side streets difficult, but coming from the prairies in the middle of Canada, driving has always been a practice of extreme caution for me; I stand by the fact that even in our cities we have some of the worst drivers to ever sit behind a wheel, of all ages.

So while the wind blows the excessive snowfall around, making March into a new Winter Wonderland, I am going to warm my cup of coffee, pick up my books and highlighters, and get as much work done as possible. I am going to do this in hopes that, when the wind stops, I can bundle up and get my ass out in the snow and have some good old fashioned fun.

Winter Haiku;

Outside the flakes fall

My breath frosts over the air;

Wonderful Winter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

