On Inevitable endings and those cautious first steps

These past few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity, excitement, and nerves. First and foremost, I received both of my thesis hard copies back from my internal committee, and with minor revisions both say it is a sound piece of work ready to move to defence. So here it is, the one year and nine months of my life I have devoted to studying and writing a single topic and paper are coming to an end. I am both excited and nervous: excited because I did it, as the only remaining MA student in my year, I have managed to make it through to see the light at the end of the tunnel; nervous because it leaves a huge hole in my ‘things to do’ list. I have been job searching relentlessly, writing cover letters and tweaking my resume to fit the needs of each particular job. My goal is to do that for a year while I gear up to challenge my JLPT and while I apply to all the doctoral programs I overlooked in January in favour of UVic and Queen’s. This whole experience is a bit overwhelming really.

Second, I attended my first fan convention (Fan Expo), exactly a week ago. I have, quite literally, never been so happy. You could have told me I was about to die and I would have still been smiling like an idiot. I met some of my role models, or at least those individuals who played my role models, saw and spoke with comic book artists and authors that I have been reading for ages, and generally just had a blast for a full two days. I also had the opportunity to volunteer for one of my favourite author’s, Peter S. Beagle. This whole experience will get its own post in the near future, once I am ready to really put words to the amazing experience.

Finally, I became an “auntie”; none of this formal ‘aunt’ shit, I insist on auntie. So all in all it has been a hectic and exciting few weeks, and it is looking to be more of the same in the coming weeks. I hope to finish up a few side writing projects and get them slapped up here, as well as some sketches, as I have decided that I might as well get into costuming if I plan to attend more conventions, and for the fact that I will need something aside from reading and writing to fill my time once my thesis goes through to defence.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

